Moves (I think) Pete and John Should Consider

Yxes1122

Reaction score
I'm not an expert and this is all probably seen through rose colored glasses, but I have no Seahawks fans to talk to where I live.

#1 - Trade for Yannick Ngakoue

[tweet]https://twitter.com/PFF/status/1156840999592890369[/tweet]

This Seattle team desperately needs speed off the Edge. More specifically, Seattle needs a LEO in the vein of Cliff Avril and Chris Clemons. Yannick is that guy. He also held out in the offseason looking for a new deal, seems unhappy in Jacksonville and is in the last year of a deal. The Jags just traded their best CB, they drafted Josh Allen and are 2-4 with a rookie QB under center. If this can be done for a 2nd this year, I think Seattle should make this move.

Normally I would want to hold onto this pick, but I think with the offense really clicking, pulling the defense to serviceable might get us to a Super Bowl caliber team. And maybe it's because he where's 91, but we badly need a Chris Clemons on this team.

#2 - Extend Quill Griffin Before the Playoffs

[tweet]https://twitter.com/PFF_Seahawks/status/1183809349652602881[/tweet]

I've seen enough of Griffin this year to think he deserves a Tyler Lockett style extension. I think an early extension at 3 year $11-13 APY is doable now and it keeps us from having to pay more in the future. I know that it's risky signing him after a rocky 2nd year, but it does feel like Seattle is going to always be rebuilding this defense or pay high dollar in contract years.

Frank isn't here because, instead of extending him for $16 APY early, we waited and he got $20 APY. Extend Quill now and make him a foundational piece.

#3 - Bench Mychal Kendricks, Jamar Taylor and Tedric Thompson. Start Cody Barton, Ugo Amadi and Marquise Blair.

[tweet]https://twitter.com/byAlistairCorp/status/1182332039812403200[/tweet]