Winter Classic - Anyone Going?

SoulfishHawk

Reaction score
I was just curious if anyone else is hitting the Winter Classic on Monday. Should be a hell of a time. Hoping the weather cooperates enough to keep the roof open.

IndyHawk

Reaction score
So, no then? :cool:
I'm in Indiana so I can't make it bud.
I'm just surprised at the seemingly lack of Kraken fans after 2 very good starting years.
What happens when they stick the Pistons in Seattle for basketball?
That is pretty much what the NBA fans will be getting with lack of talent for already too
many teams in the NBA.
My point is I don't see the Seattle fans taking it too well based off what I see.

OP
OP
S

SoulfishHawk

Reaction score
Yeah, it does seem to have died down a little. While I'm fairly new to it, I have enough friends that are die hards. They always remind me it's a long season etc.
The Arena still has killer crowds and there's def. a buzz. Just doesn't seem like much of one on here. People love the Kraken out here though.
Just maybe not so much on a football page. I'm expecting the roof to the be closed but I think the vibe would be way better if was open.

Cyrus12

Reaction score
Nhl has always had a tough time in the States in many cities...especially the non hockey markets. Not saying Seattle isnt as there is a lot of junior hockey in that area...Sustaining a fan base in some of them is difficult after the initial hype is over and fans realize it's not for them .That's why you haven't seen a cup win in Canada since 93 and they have a "lottery draft" so they can manipulate the draft order. Bettman has been trying to push these markets for years. Having tv contracts in Canada alone isn't going to sustain the league they need the big tv markets in the states. Not gonna get them with Edmonton playing Winnipeg in the finals....I haven't watched since 2012 but before that nfl took second for my viewing.

Hawker

Reaction score