Can someone explain how we're making our run defense better??

Fox0r

Reaction score
I'm not a football expert, but the two DTs we've signed seem to excel in pass-rushing and not the opposite. Am I missing something here? How are we fixing our biggest problem on defense right now? Are they planning on doing it through the draft?

We also seem to be short on ILBs.

Scout

Reaction score
The process of overhauling the entire front seven is going to take time.

But I too am curious as to which remaining players will be brought in to shore up the run defense. One thing is clear though and that the Hawks are targeting disruptors that can win 1v1 matchups. Reed and Jones in the fold tells me that they are moving towards that direction.

kidhawk

Reaction score
Free Agency hasn't even officially begun yet and we've already improved our defense. We have a LOT of off season to continue the overhaul.

DanejaHawk

Reaction score
I mean, Jarran Reed was always profiled as a stalwart in the run game. In fact pass rush skill, and finishing were far and away his biggest knocks coming into the league. If you'll remember, he was coming off of a 1 sack season at Alabama when we drafted him in 2016. His game is more similar to Shelby Harris than I think we all remember. I was personally disappointed that it appears we wouldn't be able to rework a deal for Harris. This move makes me less so.

I think Reed's skillset is an incredible bookend to Jones, who is the lengthy and twitchy penetrator.

These two moves allow the Hawks to be so much more flexible and unencumbered position-wise come draft day.

Edit: changed Georgia to Alabama. Long day at work and watching too much film thinking about the draft has my SEC school's running together...

Last edited:

bileever

Reaction score