NFL OT Question

The Essential Online Seahawks Fan Forum Community. There simply is NO substitute. RATING: PG-13
NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:30 am
  • I was talking to someone about the OT rules this morning and we couldn't agree on this scenario. I figured this is as good a place as any to inquire.

    Let's say the ATL-SEA went to OT. SEA has first possession and kicks a FG. ATL drives downfield and throws a pick - instead of going down, the defender inexplicably tries returning and subsequently fumbles, and ATL recovers in FG range.

    Isn't the game over? Doesn't the pick qualify as a change of possession and end the game, regardless of the fact that ATL recovered the ball? Or does ATL still get a crack at scoring?
    User avatar
    Hawk Finn
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 1182
    Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 3:44 am


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:51 am
  • A change of possession occurs with the legal interception. Even if it is subsequently fumbled, the opposition would not be awarded a second possession. Game over. But that defender should still be benched.
    User avatar
    ottawahawkfan
    NET Bench Warmer
     
    Posts: 9
    Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 8:11 am
    Location: Ottawa, Canada


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:53 am
  • ottawahawkfan wrote:A change of possession occurs with the legal interception. Even if it is subsequently fumbled, the opposition would not be awarded a second possession. Game over.

    I agree with the above... good question.

    The key is "change of possession" occurs with the INT.
    EastCoastHawksFan posted... "Trading for Harvin is by far the worst move John S has ever made." (March 18, 2014)

    your World Champion Seattle Seahawks.. how sweet is that!!
    User avatar
    onanygivensunday
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 3004
    Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:59 am


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:55 am
  • Game over. Possession changed.
    User avatar
    hawksfan515
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 5211
    Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:52 pm
    Location: Battle Ground, Washington


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:59 am
  • hawksfan515 wrote:Game over. Possession changed.


    4 minutes later... lolz
    ImageImageImageImageImage
    U MAD BRAH?
    User avatar
    Crizilla
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 772
    Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 6:52 pm
    Location: Redmond, WA


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:00 am
  • Thanks, guys
    User avatar
    Hawk Finn
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 1182
    Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 3:44 am


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:35 am
  • what if the team intercepts fumbles.........other guy returns the fumble recovery for a TD........ they still lost?
    mikeak
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 3159
    Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:24 pm
    Location: Anchorage, AK


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:56 am
  • mikeak wrote:what if the team intercepts fumbles.........other guy returns the fumble recovery for a TD........ they still lost?


    Great point, mikeak. I guess the biggest question is whether the interception counts as the change of possession or if the change of possession actually occurs when the play is over. We all seemed to agree that the interception is the turning point, but your followup has certainly reintroduced doubt.
    User avatar
    Hawk Finn
    NET Veteran
     
    Posts: 1182
    Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 3:44 am


Re: NFL OT Question
Mon Jan 14, 2013 12:04 pm



It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:34 pm

Please REGISTER to become a member

Return to [ THE OFFICIAL NET NATION FAN FORUM ]




Information