Pstark3 wrote:I thought that the ball came out just before his arm was moving forward and he pushed the ball forward... maybe it was just my homerism
Seanhawk wrote:It was not the tuck rule. Arm was moving forward when he released it, therefore it was an incomplete pass. I thought is was the correct call, and fairly obvious.
Spounge84 wrote:It was the correct call, but honestly I think Sam Bradford was rather lucky that Clemons was there because it was very close to intentional grounding.
Kixkahn wrote:Twisted I agree with you I often see (not just Seahawk games) a quarterback getting lucky on a fumble cause their arm sorta moved forward. That is a rule that needs to be re-evaluated same with tuck rule.
themunn wrote:I don't think you can call that intentional grounding because when Clemons make contact it affects the trajectory of the throw and essentially forces the pass to go nowhere.
I THINK that was the jist of Mike Pereira's explanation anyway
HawkFreak wrote:themunn wrote:I don't think you can call that intentional grounding because when Clemons make contact it affects the trajectory of the throw and essentially forces the pass to go nowhere.
I THINK that was the jist of Mike Pereira's explanation anyway
I have been wondering about this since I heard the explanation yesterday. Is it if a defensive player touches the QB?..or the ball?
Because if intentional grounding is taken away as soon as the QB is touched - then regardless of where they are in the pocket or if a receiver is
anywhere to be found - they are free to just sling it anywhere at that point - no?
Maybe I'm missing something...
Seanhawk wrote:HawkFreak wrote:themunn wrote:I don't think you can call that intentional grounding because when Clemons make contact it affects the trajectory of the throw and essentially forces the pass to go nowhere.
I THINK that was the jist of Mike Pereira's explanation anyway
I have been wondering about this since I heard the explanation yesterday. Is it if a defensive player touches the QB?..or the ball?
Because if intentional grounding is taken away as soon as the QB is touched - then regardless of where they are in the pocket or if a receiver is
anywhere to be found - they are free to just sling it anywhere at that point - no?
Maybe I'm missing something...
The way Pereira explained it was this rule only applies if the defender makes contact after the throwing motion as begun.
HawkFreak wrote:themunn wrote:I don't think you can call that intentional grounding because when Clemons make contact it affects the trajectory of the throw and essentially forces the pass to go nowhere.
I THINK that was the jist of Mike Pereira's explanation anyway
I have been wondering about this since I heard the explanation yesterday. Is it if a defensive player touches the QB?..or the ball?
Because if intentional grounding is taken away as soon as the QB is touched - then regardless of where they are in the pocket or if a receiver is
anywhere to be found - they are free to just sling it anywhere at that point - no?
Maybe I'm missing something...
AF_Hawk wrote:To me it looked as if the arm came forward because of the hit. I thought it was a fumble but oh well, at least this didn't change the outcome of the game.
grizbob wrote:How many here think if it was Wilson it would've been a fumble?![]()
just asking
Pstark3 wrote:I thought that the ball came out just before his arm was moving forward and he pushed the ball forward... maybe it was just my homerism
It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:09 am
Return to [ THE OFFICIAL NET NATION FAN FORUM ]