Draft experts - who's our next backup QB ?

Hawks46

Reaction score
I've seen two sides of the argument after the Flynn trade...."backups don't really matter", and "have a good backup because you're only one injury away". Personally, I'm in the 2nd camp. I don't really understand how the backup QB has no value. Sure, the NFL is protecting QBs now, but you're only one EJ Henderson roll into Hasselbeck's knee from losing a guy for 2-4 weeks. That said, JS is also big on drafting developmental QBs and then making something off of them in a couple of years (the GB model).

So it seems inevitable now that we draft one more more QBs this year. From what I've read here, (and I have no time to scout) it's a miserable draft for QBs but there are always a few gems in the mud.

So, who do we like to get drafted, and where ?

ivotuk

Reaction score
I'm no expert but I really like Jordan Rodgers. He's mobile, his accuracy has been improving, and he will stand in the pocket under fire or move if he has to.

Matt Scott is a popular choice but there are 2 things against us drafting him, one, he's probably going to go too high for us to afford him, and two, he's never called plays in the huddle which was painfully obvious in the Shrine Game.

Rodgers will most likely be available in the 6th round and played very well with little experience (2 years), and a weak Vanderbilt team.

nbk35zw

Reaction score
Mr. English has a name I agree with: Sean Renfree.

CamanoIslandJQ

Reaction score