Is drafting a QB #56 a good idea?

nbk35zw

Reaction score
Forgive me if this has already been hashed through. I'm relatively new to the process.

So, let's assume Flynn is a Raider. And let's assume that Seattle stays put at #56. If EJ Manual, Tyler Wilson, Matt Scott are there to be taken, as well as Robert Woods, Sylvester Williams, Margus Hunt, David Amerson, Menelik Watson, Kyle Long, ect.

Is it against some unwritten rule to draft a QB a full round ahead of your franchise QB?

The advantageous are obvious: cheaper, can be molded, will buy into competition, can build up as collateral.

So, for the 56th pick in the draft to have the most value, do you take Matt Scott?

Recon_Hawk

Reaction score
Personally, I would only want to draft a 2nd rd QB if the idea was that he can grow into the starter role eventually. That's not the case here. That 2nd rd pick QB would remain a backup (hopefully) for four years and then probably want to move to a team that will give him a chance to start.

I'd be ok with a 3rd rounder (since its a late 3rd), but I'd rather look at backup QB possibilities starting in the 4th round.

cheese22

Reaction score
If I was concerned about our quarterback getting lazy or content, I might address the the backup QB spot in a mid round. Beings that it's not a concern, I wait until later. There are other positions to add depth to and even though quarterback is one of those, it's not the first to be addressed. The fact is, if RW goes down with a season ending injury at some point, our chances of winning the SB are over for the year.

kearly

Reaction score
This is not an easy answer for me.

The obvious answer for most would be a flat "no." You shouldn't spend a 2nd round pick on a guy that is fairly unlikely to contribute next season given how close Seattle is to a championship. It's also harder to turn that backup into a profit down the road if he does well.