Tebow, McCoy, Wilson, Klein...

Coxal

Reaction score
I was wondering how these QBs can have HUGE college career/number and be such a bad NFL prospect.

I'm french and know/watch football for 5 years now... I'm not bleeding football it's obvious and I have no experience (never play, I watched like 150 games in my life...) so it may be obvious for you guys but not for me and I'd like to know why these guys can't be NFL star like they use to be in NCAA. I know about size (wtf RW3!) and arm strengh (hasselbeck!) but it can't be just that?

:2:

OP
OP
Coxal

Coxal

Reaction score
I wrote Wilson in my thread but I meant Kellen MOORE from Boise State!

Throwdown

Reaction score
I was totally gonna go nuts if he didn't mean Moore...

Systems sometimes do this. For Tebow? He wasn't worked on as a true blue QB at Florida because it wasn't asked of him, McCoy and Moore? well McCoy was a disappointment overall he just sucked and IMO he wasn't even that great at Texas. Moore did great, but he was playing Everest College every week but he has a noodle arm, hes short, and slow.

MRH72

Reaction score
I think the general consensus is that the NFL is at such a different speed than even an elite college defense. In the NFL you rarely see a "gimmick" offense (i.e. Klein/Tebow) because NFL defenses speed and athleticism basically cancel out any advantage that might give you.

As far as great college passers (McCoy, Kellen Moore, etc.) most of the time it comes down to arm strength and fitting the ball into tight coverage. Kellen Moore is about as accurate of a QB as I've ever seen at the college level, but unfortunately his arm strength will probably keep him from having much success at the NFL level. Arm strength doesn't mean he can throw a 50 yard pass, most can do that. Arm strength in the NFL means having "zip" on passes, which are pivotal to completing short and intermediate routes.